I Almost Quit

Entrepreneurship is hard.

Anyone who tells you otherwise is lying.

I’m going to do something different today. Be raw.

Its Raw GIF by Gordon Ramsay

Gif by gordonramsay on Giphy

Since starting a coaching business in 2007 and pivoting to speaking around 5 years ago there’s been more downs than ups.

My wife has always been supportive of my pursuits, but based on my own and society’s standards I’ve experienced more failure than success.

But I’m not asking for your pity or sorrow.

I’m just being honest.

In times of adversity your character is revealed.

  • Sometimes it shines.

  • Other times it shows what you need work on.

I’ve had my fair share of both.

Yet with every emotional valley, a climax is on the horizon.

For me, my faith has sustained me more than anything these past 4 years.

I’m not here to preach to you (but if you want to know more just reply to this email), once again I’m just being real.

Fortunately when I hit a low, I quickly recover and get ready for the next challenge.

This is not just me talking…this is you too.

I’m not saying we’re experiencing the same thing, but I am saying life is tough.

The next time you start feeling sorry for yourself and slip into victim mode, pump the brakes (or get a friend to shake you out of your mental funk - isolation breeds self-doubt).

Since 2023 work has been slow for me.

  • I’ve tried different things.

  • I’ve consistently done the same things.

  • The results haven’t panned out the way I’d like them to.

But I’m not quitting.

Coming On My Way GIF by Regal

Gif by regalmovies on Giphy

I am not traveling this journey alone (neither should you).

If you’ve been reading my newsletter for days or years thank you.

My current focus is on leadership and management, but you don’t have to hold a formal position to lead others.

Each day you have a choice (so do I) to get better.

Some of it is out of your control, but focus on what you can control: your effort and attitude.

➡️ So here’s my ask, if you’re an event planner (or know of one please forward this to them) watch the video below and consider hiring me for your next event.

➡️ If you’re working at a company that can use a talk or workshop on the importance and application of soft skills, reply or forward this email to someone who might benefit from it.

In my career (and hopefully yours too) I’m always working on the next thing…not knowing if it will “stick” or not.

But I’m not quitting.

So I hope this message encourages you not to quit what you’re pursuing either.

God Bless,