Help Me, Help You

Jerry Maguire is one of my favorite sports movies.

Without fully giving away the story it is about a sports agent who sticks with a pro athlete’s journey through thick and thin.

In reality, like the movie, your career is going to have peaks and valleys.

You possess certain strengths and weaknesses.

Ideally you’re doing more of what you’re great at and less of what you’re not on a daily basis.

(If not, it’s time to ask for change or consider leaving)

So how do you deal with your blind spots aka personal weaknesses?

Most ignore them, act like they don’t exist or push through it believing they’re on their own (guys I’m looking at you).

Although the norm, not very effective at all.

I’ve found out the hard way that asking for help is the right move.

  • I worked with a coach early in my career which helped me become one

  • I recruited friends to help me run a fundraiser for my kids’ theatre program

  • We used a real estate agent to find us our new home

Of course vetting the people you ask is crucial, yet being self-aware enough to know you need help in a particular area is wise.

Why is it that guys tend to act more independent and see asking for help as a weakness?

While girls are naturally more collaborative so asking for help comes natural.

If you’re concerned about how others perceive you, don’t.

No one is great at everything (despite what is posted on social media), otherwise we’d live in isolation!

In the past couple of years I’ve leaned on a few mature men for spiritual wisdom.

Truth be told, it wasn’t something I was open to earlier on in my life.

But now that I have it I can’t imagine my life without it.

My question to you is this: what are you struggling with?

Imagine how much more freeing it would be to share that burden with someone else.

It doesn’t remove responsibility from you (victim mode is not allowed), but it lessens the load (do you feel your shoulders getting lighter already?)

I’m not a mind reader, nor do I want to be.

But I know I can help in areas where I’m strong: soft skills, leadership, emotional intelligence, organization, time management, etc.

The same goes for you.

Your strengths are a gift to others.

Others benefit from your gifts more than you do.

You just get the joy out of seeing someone else succeed because of your help (it’s a great feeling if you haven’t experienced it yet!)

So if you are an aspiring/current leader I want to give you some guidance

Help me, help you develop as a leader by doing this.

God Bless,

Speaking it reel…